Music >>

Live Reviews

090220_camp_list

Lift and drag

Titus Andronicus and Los Campesinos!, Paradise Rock Club, February 13, 2009
In an age of polarizing bands, Welsh septet Los Campesinos! are among the . . . polarizing-est.
By: RYAN STEWART  |  February 18, 2009

090220_noise_list

Noise Night at Willoughby and Baltic

Circuit bending with Jimmie Rodgers
Circuit benders are people who customize electronics (frequently toys) to make them sound bad.
By: RICHARD BECK  |  February 18, 2009

090123_witkin_list

Rogues' gallery

Lucky Dragons and Stephen Prina: Rockin' part of Andrew Witkin's installation at the ICA
Wayward visitors spilling into Andrew Witkin's Untitled 1997–2007 installation at the ICA last Sunday nearly tripped over Luke Fischbeck, who was crouched over an array of electrified sticks, shakers, tiny drums, and flutes.
By: MATT PARISH  |  February 10, 2009

090213_mbd_list

How low can you go?

Murder by Death live at the Middle East Downstairs, February 7, 2009
"Turn down the bass!" a well-meaning fan finally yelled last Saturday night, about a half-hour into Murder by Death's sold-out performance downstairs at the Middle East.
By: FRANKLIN SOULTS  |  February 10, 2009

090213_passion_list4

Precious and Few

Passion Pit live at the Middle East Downstairs, February 6, 2009
Twenty-five minutes into Passion Pit's set last Friday at the Middle East downstairs, Michael Angelakos mopped sweat from his brow with a towel and made an apologetic announcement.
By: CAITLIN E. CURRAN  |  February 09, 2009

A_Bird_thumb

Slideshow: Andrew Bird at the Orpheum

The Orpheum Theatre, January 30, 2009
The Orpheum Theatre, January 30, 2009
By: ERIC BAUMANN  |  February 02, 2009



090206_national_list

Worlds collide

Bryce Dessner and Matthew Ritchie at MIT
A week ago Wednesday and Thursday, a curious collection of young scruffy indie kids and older scruffy MIT eggheads converged on the school's Broad Institute for two nights of free music, art, and lecture dubbed "Darkness Visible."
By: WILL SPITZ  |  February 03, 2009

090206_roots_list

Cornball bliss

The Roots and Antibalas, live at the Roxy, January 29, 2009
Not until entering the Roxy a week ago Thursday did I comprehend what a normal kid feels the first time he sees a big-league ballpark.
By: CHRIS FARAONE  |  February 04, 2009

090206_yomajesty_list

One for the road

Yo! Majesty, live at Harpers Ferry, January 28, 2009
It was an uncomfortable moment when Yo! Majesty took the stage — what, after all, is the quorum necessary for a show to go on when one-half of a hip-hop duo isn't there?
By: DANIEL BROCKMAN  |  February 03, 2009

09103_roots_list

Slideshow: The Roots

Red Bull Sound Clash, live at the Roxy, January 29, 2009
Red Bull Sound Clash, live at the Roxy, January 29, 2009
By: ERIC BAUMANN  |  February 02, 2009

090130_steampunk_list

A clockwork hoedown

The Steampunk Historical Dance
By the time I arrive at the Steampunk Historical Dance, I've been at sci-fi convention Arisia for nearly 12 hours.
By: SHAULA CLARK  |  January 27, 2009



090130_flyer_list

Fat Worm of Error: Windsong On Our Own Mind

Milky Way, January 25, 2009
The air downstairs at the Milky Way was a thick soup of body funk — the kind of stale coloration that a T-shirt stuck at the bottom of a pile of laundry tends to achieve after a few weeks.
By: MATT PARISH  |  January 27, 2009

090120_rakim_list3

Rakim: Return of the King

Harpers Ferry, January 17, 2009
As long as the Microsoft linguists who're responsible for updating Word are adding "Barack" and "Obama" to the spell-check dictionary, they should throw in "Rakim."
By: CHRIS FARAONE  |  January 27, 2009

090130_gaslight_list

Slideshow: Brian Fallon of the Gaslight Anthem

Live at the Middle East Upstairs, January 25, 2009
Brian Fallon of the Gaslight Anthem
By: ERIC BAUMANN  |  January 29, 2009

090123_out_list

Final Marinate at the Milky Way

We out
As we've been reporting for months now, the Milky Way isn't closing, it's moving into swank new digs just a few blocks from its longstanding Jamaica Plain nook.
By: CHRIS FARAONE  |  January 20, 2009

090123_dept_List

Review: Department of Eagles

Brattle Theater, January 18, 2009
At the Brattle Theatre Sunday, Fred Nicolaus, guitarist from the Brooklyn-based duo Department of Eagles, announced that they'd play a song from their little-known 2003 debut album, The Whitey on the Moon UK LP . "It's not very good," he warned.
By: CAITLIN E. CURRAN  |  January 20, 2009



090123_made_list

Review: Made in Mexico

A house in Allston, January 12, 2009
As a crush of enthusiastic dudes knocked into me in spastic reverie while watching Made in Mexico at a house show last week, I recalled how, mere hours before, the room had been empty save for a heap of cases and equipment and an inexplicable grocery cart filled to the brim with VHS cassettes of Korean porn
By: DANIEL BROCKMAN  |  January 20, 2009

090116_metallica_list

Slideshow: Metallica live at the Garden

TD Banknorth Garden, January 18, 2009
Metallica
By: JOE HARRINGTON  |  January 20, 2009

090125_fantasma_list

Slideshow: Grupo Fantasma live

Middle East Downstairs, January 8, 2009
Grupo Fantasma live at the Middle East
By: DEREK KOUYOUMJIAN  |  January 16, 2009

090109_grupo_list

Grupo Fantasma

Middle East Downstairs, January 8, 2009
"When you come to our show, you gotta dance. You dance however you want to dance."
By: CAITLIN E. CURRAN  |  January 12, 2009

090109_math_list

Review: Math the Band, Lima Research Society

Middle East Upstairs, January 5, 2009
Math the Band suck greasy elephant balls, I was told by a source.
By: BARRY THOMPSON  |  January 12, 2009


<< first  ...< prev  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |   next >...  last >>

36 of 52 (results 1031)

Most Popular
Ski Guide

Best Emo

Best Goth

Best Brit Pop

WFNX