Bob Dylan Unboxed

Everything you wanted to know about Tell-Tale Signs but were afraid to buy
By GUSTAVO TURNER  |  October 15, 2008


This October, Columbia Records (part of the Sony media conglomerate) is releasing Tell-Tale Signs: Rare and Unreleased 1989-2006, a collection of recordings by Bob Dylan that are different from recordings issued on the seven studio albums he released in that period. (To wit: Oh Mercy (1989), Under the Red Sky (1990), Good As I Been To You (1992), World Gone Wrong (1993), Time Out of Mind (1997), "Love and Theft" (2001), and Modern Times (2006).

Defining Tell-Tale Signs beyond those facts is slightly more complicated; a state of affairs that transcends this grab-bag collection of outtakes, re-versions, and random live recordings, and is a symptom of the chaos brought about by the online music revolution of the last few years.

Tell-Tale Signs is, at the very least, two completely different artifacts: a double CD with 27 tracks sold in retail and online stores for $18.99, and a triple CD with 39 tracks only sold as an “Exclusive Deluxe Edition” along with “a hardcover picture book of singles covers from around the world,” a 7” vinyl single (2 tracks already included on the CDs), and, while supplies last, a “Theme Time Radio Hour” (Dylan’s satellite radio show) poster by comics artist Jaime Hernandez. The Deluxe edition retails for $129.99.

To complicate matters, the 27-track version is also available as a quadruple 180-gram vinyl LP set, as an online download (if you pre-ordered the album through iTunes—for $17.99—they also throw in a live version of Time Out of Mind’s “Love Sick” unavailable anywhere else), and—for a week before the release date—as a free audio stream from the NPR website, where it aired after ads for Jackson Browne and urbane jazz from Verve Forecast.

Once one gets through this confusing mess of digital and hard-plastic versions, knick-knacks, and dubious photo-essays on memorabilia, what it boils down to is that those interested in buying Tell-Tale Signs have to opt between paying 20 bucks for 27 tracks or 130 bucks for 39.

Obviously Sony, Columbia, and Dylan’s management are collectively confident that there are enough completists and insane Bobheads who will shell out the extra Benjamin for those 12 tracks they can listen to while they flip through pictures of the singles from around the world and, presumably, cry over their credit situation. (Allegedly, when a journalist asked someone from Dylan’s “camp” about the ridiculously expensive 3-disc set, he was told that they were confident the music would eventually reach all fans through illegal downloads.)

As soon as this release strategy was announced, the Dylan forums on the Internet (like the one at the popular lit up with irate would-be customers and others mocking those irate would-be customers. After the free NPR stream was announced, forum user “smoke” wrote, “Do I understand this right? We can now get the 2 disc version legally and for free—and still have to pay $120 for that third disc? Figures…anyway, great marketing idea on their part.”

From the UK, another poster weighed in with, “Lately I’ve been considering do[wn]loading all three cds instead of downloading only the third, as I had originally planned. My feeling is that Sony and Bob have broken the ‘social contract’ between artist/record company and the LOYAL audience/hard core fans. Record companies need to be told, they are digging their own graves.”

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |   next >
Related: The music man, The road not taken, Interview: Greil Marcus, More more >
  Topics: Music Features , Entertainment, Joan Baez, Joan Baez,  More more >
| More

Most Popular
Share this entry with Delicious
  •   IAN KING | PANIC GRASS AND FEVER FEW  |  March 16, 2010
    Just a few weeks after we reviewed the belated release of African Head Charge's latest, another, more recent gem from the always rewarding sonic laboratory of Adrian Sherwood arrives.
  •   JOE CUBA | EL ALCALDE DEL BARRIO  |  March 09, 2010
    Fania kicks off 2010 with what is sure to end up being one of the year's most important archival releases of Latin music.
  •   ALEJANDRO FRANOV | DIGITARIA  |  March 03, 2010
    Alejandro Franov is an Argentine multi-instrumentalist who's been involved in the more serious, and often experimental, side of the Buenos Aires music scene since he was a teen in the late 1980s.
  •   THE SOULJAZZ ORCHESTRA | RISING SUN  |  February 23, 2010
    We're living in the middle of a veritable renaissance of "Spiritual Jazz."
    UK dub guru Adrian Sherwood and adventurous percussionist Bonjo I have been releasing their sonic experiments as African Head Charge since the early 1980s.

 See all articles by: GUSTAVO TURNER