Moonsigns  |  BandGuide  |  Blogs  |  Adult
Boston  |  Portland  |  Providence
 

Linc Launches Blog Site

Following in a long, unsuccessful line that includes Bill Weld, Pete Wilson, and Christie Todd Whitman, Rhode Island's own ex-Senator Lincoln Chafee is trying to reclaim conservatism for the Republican Party's moderates. Good luck.

Linc is launching a new Web site from which to launch this effort, at a url he bought (for an unspecified but quite generous sum, according to a note left by the seller on the site) from an ultra-conservative blogger -- who Chafee sweetly refers to as a "huckster," one of the many like Rush Limbaugh who have "filled your heads with lies about conservatism."

Chafee, you might recall, nearly lost his primary last year because he is too moderate for the GOP, and then lost the general because the GOP is too conservative for Little Rhody.

This weekend, the site suddenly switched over, with the following welcome from the former Senator:

Hello everybody! It's me, former Senator Lincoln Chafee here. After I lost my re-election, I realized that it was because a lot of you people don't really understand what conservatism is all about -- and it's not your fault that you don't get it.

Chafee goes on to say that the site will define and promote true Compassionate Conservatism, with blogging by five of his staffers, and guest commentary from folks like David Brooks, Christopher Shays, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Andrew Sullivan, and Chuck Hagel. Whether anyone will be reading remains to be seen.

Update:Yes, it's an April Fool's joke. And sadly, if you missed it Sunday, it's gone.

  • sco said:

    Hilarious! I'm assuming this is an elaborate April Fools Day joke.
    April 1, 2007 6:03 PM
  • RightWingRocker said:

    Well duh! Come on. At the bottom of the page there's a blurb calling the New York Times "The Greatest Paper In The World"! This is better than the April Fool's post I put up back in '05. RWR www.rightwingrocker.com
    April 1, 2007 11:45 PM
  • Peter Porcupine said:

    What frightens me is that I did not recognize it as a sham, but thought it was just a badly produced start-up. For those with genuine interest in the subject, I recommned www.itsmypartytoo.com, which is NOT a spoof web site.
    April 3, 2007 5:35 PM

Leave a Comment

Login | Not a member yet? Click here to Join

(required)  
(optional)
(required)  






Wednesday, October 15, 2008  |  Sign In  |  Register
 
thePhoenix.com:
Phoenix Media/Communications Group:
TODAY'S FEATURED ADVERTISERS
Copyright © 2008 The Phoenix Media/Communications Group