Food >>

Restaurant Reviews


Khayyam Restaurant

Glorious kebabs, and so much more
This isn't the best Persian food I've ever had, but it doesn't have to be — Persian food is that good.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  July 16, 2010


Review: Mumbai Chopstix

Wok on the wild side
I first noticed Indian Chinese cuisine on South Asian diaspora recipe Web sites about 10 years ago.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  July 09, 2010


Review: Stoddard's Fine Food and Ale

Boston's gastropub world has a new champ
Some of the great ones do it by instinct, but William Ashmore, owner of Stoddard's (and Ivy across the street) appears to be someone given to second thoughts, maybe nots, and serial inspirations.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  July 05, 2010


Review: Basho Japanese Brasserie

A tasty fusion of new and traditional Japanese fare
Weirdly situated in the Fenway, this large restaurant from the owners of Back Bay's Douzo conveys an immediate sense of space well apportioned, with the minimalist fascination of the best haiku.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  June 24, 2010


Review: Nico

An average North End destination with a sweet ending
The North End can be touristy, it can be posh, it can be authentically Italian, it can be nostalgically Italian-American, it can be snooty white-sauce Italian, and sometimes it can be charmingly (or not so charmingly) vulgar.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  June 20, 2010


Bombay Club

A favorite local Indian eatery finds a new home
As we were on our way home from dinner at Bombay Club, Mrs. Nadeau said, "We didn't try any curries — we missed that."
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  June 09, 2010


Review: Jerry Remy's Sports Bar & Grill

Another victory, what a surprise
The baseball record books show that Gerald Peter Remy, in 10 major-league seasons, hit a total of seven home runs. On my first visit to his Boylston Street bar and grill, I was ready to declare the restaurant home run number eight.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  June 02, 2010


Review: Coppa

A complicated conception with a delicious finish
One of the strange features of the Great Recession is the incredible complexity of down-market maneuvers.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  June 28, 2010



A perfect complement to Somerville — or, for that matter, anywhere
I guess the experimental-chef thing isn’t over, after all. At least not at Somerville’s Bergamot, the chosen sobriquet of which is “progressive American cuisine and a warm neighborhood setting.”
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  May 24, 2010


Russell House Tavern

Tastes good, looks great — no gimmicks necessary
For a place with major, major foot traffic, Harvard Square has proven to be a tricky spot for restaurateurs.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  May 12, 2010



Jae’s grill is reborn with pan-Asian zen
The Web site says “modern Asian bistro” and the other description they’ve put out is “ultra trendy modern Asian cuisine.”
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  May 05, 2010


La Galleria 33

A new, old-school-style addition to the city’s longest-thriving dining district
As you go deeper into the North End on Salem Street, the pretense drops toward the levels of old, pre-gentrification “Little Italy.”
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  April 28, 2010


Woodward at Ames

Ben Franklin meets a supermodel? Go with it — it works.
The Woodward is the slightly quieter upstairs of the Woodward Tavern, a high-concept downtown café-bar based on the idea “Ben Franklin meets a supermodel.”
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  April 29, 2010


South End Buttery

From Viennoiserie to veal: a local bakery grows up
South End Buttery started with cupcakes and coffee, but opened up a dining room below street level two summers ago, and has since gradually taken on more serious cheffery.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  April 29, 2010


American Craft

Brewed to perfection
If American Craft was a brand-new restaurant, I still would be an enthusiast. But it’s even better as is, because it’s the end result of a story of hard knocks.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  April 07, 2010


Barlow’s Restaurant

When in doubt, ask for a second opinion
It’s not unusual for this column to have a different opinion of restaurants than the column in the Boston Globe — I favor a flatter bell curve.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  March 31, 2010


Red Lentil Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant

No meat? No problem.
By now everyone knows Red Lentil is dog-plays-the-piano good. It’s the best all-vegetarian and lots-vegan restaurant Boston has ever had. The question before us is: is it actually good -good?
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  April 29, 2010


Symphony 8 Restaurant & Bar

Time to face the music
Everyone wants to have a gastro-pub with comfort food, but you have to be able to cook a little bit to sustain one. It also helps to draw a clean draught beer, maintain a quality wine list, and sweep the floor.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  March 17, 2010


Arbri Cafe

Albanian food returns to former Italian territory
I loved the Café Apollonia when it opened in this space in 2004 as what was then Boston's sole denominated Albanian restaurant.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  March 10, 2010


The Daily Grill

A newcomer earns its keep
You can tell that the Daily Grill isn't from around here, because it describes itself as "modeled after the great big city grills of the '30s and '40s."
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  March 03, 2010



Faking it, just not quite making it
The first clue to a fake restaurant is a phony name. Conga's isn't owned by an Afro-Cuban dance rhythm, and doesn't serve drums. Instead, it has a Spanish and South American menu cooked by Central Americans for Thai owners whose previous Japanese restaurant in this space didn't catch on.
By: ROBERT NADEAU  |  February 24, 2010

<< first  ...< prev  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |   next >...  last >>

6 of 14 (results 263)

Most Popular
Ski Guide

Best Emo

Best Goth

Best Brit Pop