Life, love, and sneakers

By CAMILLE DODERO  |  February 18, 2006

Steve Gardner from Reebok agrees. “Before, there wasn’t a lot of places for them to go retail-wise, so they lived on the Internet and places they’d reach out to were places like the Tannery.” Now, in addition to stores like Expressions, Manhattan, Hip Zeppis in Downtown Crossing; the brand-run lifestyle outposts like the PUMA Concept Store and Niketown on Newbury Street, and the Adidas Originals Store in Harvard Square; and the arrival of Karmaloop and Laced, there are more points of physical contact. “It’s definitely starting to open up here a lot bigger.”

When it gets too trendy, the real ’heads will move on. “The people that were here first, they’re gonna get sick of it,” says Spungie. “Those are the real trendsetters in life. And those are the people who’ll find out what the next thing is.”

___

On the Web:

Sneakergame: http://www.sneakergame.com/
Weekly Drop: http://www.weeklydrop.com/
Dropform: http://www.dropform.com/dropform/
Female Sneaker Fiend: www.femalesneakerfiend.com
Kookies.net: http://kookies.net/blog/
Sole Collector: http://www.solecollector.com/
Sneaker Freaker: http://www.sneakerfreaker.com/
The Tannery: http://www.thetannery.com/
The Sneaker Pimps: http://www.sneakerpimps.com/
Laced Boston: http://www.lacedboston.com/
HypeBeast: http://www.hypebeast.com/index.php
NikeTalk: http://www.niketalk.com/
Crooked Tongues: http://www.crookedtongues.com/
No Sweat Apparel: http://www.nosweatapparel.com/
Cabino Goes to Beaverton (Operation McFly): http://operationmcfly.blogspot.com/
New Balance: http://www.newbalance.com/
Reebok: http://www.rbk.com/index.asp
Puma: http://www.puma.com/pindex.jsp
Nike: http://www.nike.com/main.html
Air-Jordans.com: http://www.air-jordans.com/
Adidas: http://www.adidas.com/
A Bathing Ape: http://www.bape.com/

E-mail the author:

Camille Dodero: cdodero@phx.com

< prev  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  | 
Related: Maine sneaker-maker could provide military footwear, Wearing Haring: The Reebok x Haring collection, Present perfect, More more >
  Topics: Lifestyle Features , Entertainment, Hip-Hop and Rap, New York City Police Department,  More more >
| More


Most Popular
More Information
ARTICLES BY CAMILLE DODERO
Share this entry with Delicious
  •   INTERVIEW: CHLOË SEVIGNY  |  January 12, 2011
    For the record, Chloë Sevigny is not dating Jersey Shore 's Pauly D.
  •   CONEY ISLAND HIGH  |  July 20, 2010
    There are about 300 people here, it's 94 degrees, and Worcester's finest lo-fi frontman is singing about his cat beside a roller-coaster.
  •   JUST THE TWO OF US  |  April 22, 2008
    I almost slept over at Nat Baldwin’s house once.
  •   ID CHECK: SUPER SECRET DANCE SOCIETY  |  October 17, 2008
    I’m sitting in Super Secret Dance Society Original Agent Annaliese Rittershaus’s unmarked vehicle on President’s Day, with three other soon-to-be-indoctrinated SSDS Agents.  

 See all articles by: CAMILLE DODERO